Members of the Ohio House and Ohio Senate Endorse Democrat Kathleen Clyde for Secretary of State

Friday, November 3rd, 2017

Momentum continues to grow for Kathleen as over 30 elected officials from across Ohio endorse her campaign for Secretary of State

COLUMBUS, OH – Today over 30 members of the Ohio House of Representatives and Senate endorsed State Representative Kathleen Clyde (D-Kent) in her campaign for Ohio Secretary of State.

“Our right to vote is what makes our democracy so special. Kathleen has spent her time at the Statehouse standing up for this right and protecting the voices of so many Ohioans,” said House Minority Leader Fred Strahorn. “Kathleen’s leadership is exactly what we need right now and that is why I’m endorsing her campaign for Secretary of State.”

“Rep. Kathleen Clyde has shown her leadership and dedication to the people of Ohio while serving in the Statehouse. Kathleen has been on the front-lines fighting for fair districts,” said Senate Minority Leader Kenny Yuko. “Kathleen has always believed that our legislative districts should reflect our great state, not what is in the best interest of partisan politics.  I’m proud to be endorsing Kathleen and her campaign for Ohio’s next Secretary of State.”

“It is an honor to earn the endorsements of my colleagues in the Ohio House and Senate today,” said Rep. Kathleen Clyde. “I look forward to continuing to work with these leaders to strengthen our voting systems to make sure every Ohioans’ voice is heard, every is vote counted and every district is fairly represented.”

Here is the complete list:

Senate Minority Leader, Kenny Yuko

Senate Minority Whip, Edna Brown

House Minority Leader, Fred Strahorn

House Assistant Minority Leader, Nick Celebrezze

House Minority Whip, Nickie Antonio

House Assistant Minority Whip, Emilia Sykes

State Senator Sean O’Brien

State Senator Joe Schiavoni

State Senator Michael Skindell

State Senator Sandra Williams

State Representative Michael Ashford

State Representative Kristin Boggs

State Representative Janine Boyd

State Representative Richard Brown

State Representative Jack Cera

State Representative Hearcel Craig

State Representative Teresa Fedor

State Representative Tavia Galonski

State Representative Glenn Holmes

State Representative Brigid Kelly

State Representative Bernadine Kennedy Kent

State Representative David Leland

State Representative Michele Lepore-Hagan

State Representative Adam Miller

State Representative Michael O’Brien

State Representative John Patterson

State Representative Daniel Ramos

State Representative John Rogers

State Representative Michael Sheehy

State Representative Kent Smith

State Representative Martin Sweeney

State Representative Thomas West

Rep. Kathleen Clyde announced her candidacy for Ohio Secretary of State in May 2017. In her fourth term in the legislature, she has been a strong advocate for redistricting reform and voting rights. She has also fought against attacks on working families, like Senate Bill 5 and education laws that shortchange Ohio’s kids. She currently represents the 75th Ohio House district in Portage County.


Paid for by the Kathleen Clyde Committee

Media Inquiries: Contact Lauren Durham | 740-403-1894